About Us

Federally mandated, the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) is responsible for the administration of the area’s surface transportation planning activities. The Metropolitan Planning Area includes portions of Gregg, Harrison and Upshur counties and the cities from Longview to Gladewater, Union Grove, East Mountain and Lakeport. The MPO is governed by a Policy Board composed of elected officials and senior staff members from Longview, White Oak, Gladewater, Gregg, Harrison and Upshur counties and the Texas Department of Transportation. Representatives of the Federal Highway Administration and the local Texas State Representatives serve as non-voting members of the transportation board. The MPO Technical Committee, constituted of staff members from participating public entities and agencies, provides technical analysis, develops policies, plans, and projects for recommendation to the Policy Board.

Mission Statement

To provide cooperative, comprehensive, and continuing  short and long-range transportation planning that promotes the safe, reliable, and secure movement of people and goods in the Longview Metropolitan Area.

Latest News