Planning Area

In November 2013, the Longview MPO planning area boundary was expanded due to the increase of  the 2010 Census designated urbanized area.  In accordance with 23 U.S.C. §134 and 23 C.F.R. §450.312, a metropolitan planning area boundary shall, at a minimum, encompass the entire existing urbanized area and the contiguous area expected to become urbanized within a 20-year forecast period for the metropolitan transportation plan.

  • The Metropolitan Planning Area includes portions of Gregg, Harrison and Upshur counties and the cities from Longview to Gladewater, Union Grove, East Mountain and Lakeport.
  • The MPO plans for 260 sq. miles in East Texas. 
  • According to the 2010 Decennial Census, there are approximate population of 123,000 in the MPO’s planning area.

Metropolitan Boundary Area Map

Metropolitan Area Boundary Map