News Flash

City of Longview News

Posted on: September 11, 2019

Finalists Announced for the 2019 Texas Downtown Association President’s Awards Program

Downtown Longview-01

Finalists for the 2019 President’s Awards Program were recently announced in Austin.  For over 30 years the awards program, sponsored by the Texas Downtown Association (TDA), has recognized outstanding projects, places, and people of Texas downtowns.

Longview has two finalists for 2019 awards. In the category of new Construction, R. Lacy, Inc. is a 2019 TDA Award finalist and for Best Downtown Business, Oil Horse Brewing Company is a 2019 TDA finalist. The Longview Main Street program, along with One Hundred Acres of Heritage, Inc., nominated 5 projects for awards this year.

TDA was established in 1985 to connect and serve communities that are committed to downtown vitality.  The organization is an independent, statewide nonprofit that represents cities and towns of all sizes, economic development corporations, chambers of commerce, local associations, small businesses, and individuals.

“We are so excited to have two finalists this year,” said Melida Heien, Main Street Coordinator for the City of Longview. “It is an honor to be able to showcase the investment that businesses and people have made into our downtown community to make it a great place. Getting recognized at the state level is quite an honor – because locally, we certainly know we have something to be proud of.”

One hundred and nineteen entries were submitted in eleven different categories from communities across the state. Due to the number of entries, the entries were divided up into two categories – Design and Achievement – with separate judging panels for each group.  

The judges for design entries were: Barbara Brannon, Texas Heritage Plains Trail; Rachel Farrington, Cobalt Development; Ellis Mumford-Russell, Ogee; Dick Ryan, retired architect; and Riley Triggs, City of Austin.  

The judges for achievement entries were: Molly Alexander, Downtown Austin Alliance; Travis Baker, Community Impact Newspaper; Alan Bojorquez, Bojorquez Law Firm; Margo Richards, Lower Colorado River Authority; and Daryl Whitworth, Madden Media.  

Winners will be announced on October 30 at the Awards Gala held in conjunction with the 2019 Texas Downtown Conference in Georgetown.  For more information about the President’s Awards or other programs of the Texas Downtown Association, please visit  Applications for the 2020 awards program will open in the spring.

Additional Info...
Facebook Twitter Email